Now What Do We Do? 

How Families (and Friends) Can Survive and Thrive After a Suicide Attempt Series Webinar # 4: Insight into the Suicidal Mind

Here Are the Details for This Webinar

  • When is it? November 7, 2017, 1 PM New York (EDT), 12 PM Chicago (CDT), 10 AM Los Angeles (PDT), 6 PM London (GMT)
  • Where is it? Join in from your laptop/desktop
  • Who's doing it? Presented by Heidi Bryan, author, public speaker, and suicide loss and attempt survivor.
  • What's it all about? Topics to be discussed in this webinar are popular theories on why and how people become suicidal, cognitive distortions, ambivalence and hopelessness.
  • Price: $37. When you register, you'll receive a workbook to help take notes during the webinar. During the webinar, there will be useful handouts and resources plus you'll have access to the recording afterwards.

This is a 2-step registration process - you must complete both steps to be successfully registered.

Please submit your payment below to confirm your registration

This webinar starts in:

-
Days
-
Hours
-
Minutes
-
Seconds

During This Webinar, You Will Learn:

  • Popular Theories About Why and How People Become Suicidal. This section will cover different theories about suicide, such as those by Dr. Thomas Joiner and Dr. Edwin Shneidman. This will help you to understand how one becomes suicidal and learn the different aspects of suicidality.


  • Cognitive Distortions. When someone becomes suicidal, their thinking often becomes restricted and distorted. These distortions often exacerbate the situation and can be modified with work. Examples of cognitive distortions will be provided.


  • Ambivalence. Most suicidal people don't want to die; they want to end their pain. This ambivalence can be capitalized upon to learn not only reasons for wanting to die but also reasons for living. 


  • Hopelessness. The absence of hope is a key factor for people experiencing suicidal thoughts. We'll discuss what this means and looks like and how to implement hope so one can move forward.


  • Time for Questions and Answers. We'll make sure to leave enough time so you can have your questions or concern addressed.


  • Resources


Other topics that will be discussed in future webinars are: Self-Care and Advocacy

Did you remember to complete both steps of the registration?

WARNING: There is limited seating available for these webinars so make sure you sign up early and won't be put on a waiting list.